Think Big.

Welcome back, so this week I promised to talk about Photography as a business opportunity. Before we get into that I think it is a very good idea to first of all talk about the strategy and the various factors that you have to consider before you start your own photography business. You also have to conduct a SWOT analysis to know where you are heading and the circumstances you may face. So after reading some posts from professional photographers, I found very important issues that have to be considered before starting a photography business and this is what I`ll talk about today.

Starting a photography business takes a sound business plan and an effective marketing strategy.

Are you ready to turn your passion for photography into a part-time or full-time photography business? Thousands of men and women have turned their hobby into a rewarding photography career. There are many steps however, to achieve a successful business in photography. It takes a lot more than the ability to create beautiful images to become a profitable business.

Can you answer “yes” to the following questions.

1) I love photography so much I would do it for free.

2) I am willing to learn basic sales and marketing skills that apply to all businesses.

3) I am willing to develop inter-personal skills, so I can acquire the fortitude and positive attitude required to run a small business.

4) I am willing to develop a sound business plan and commit to goal setting on a daily basis.

5) I am familiar with all the technical aspect of my camera.

If you answered yes to all the above questions you are a candidate for starting your own photography business. This is how Mary Buck started her post which I found very informative if you are a starter into this world of photography. She analyzes various areas and gives useful tips that are very constructive. You can follow her link: http://www.online-digital-photography-course.com/photography-business.html, in order to get to know more about the various basic building blocks for starting your own photography business.

http://shannonholden.com/blog/starting-a-photography-business/

In this link by Shannon Holden, she talks about a few things that she thinks are critical for any photographer hoping to build a business around their passion. Some of these things can be a little sensitive to talk about, but worth to know about. This is a very great and wonderfully written blog but she leaves out some important information that have to be passed out.

When I compared the two posts, I found out that Mary Bucks blog was very well structured and more detailed in comparison to Shannon Holden`s because she did not only talk about the strategies but also went further ahead and talked about the various building blocks for starting a photography business and the various types of photography businesses.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-7-Uwgz-QZY

This is a video by Roy Barker who is a talented photographer. For those people who enjoy watching videos than reading the articles, this is a great video tip that I would highly recommend that you watch it. It is easily explained and direct to the point.

I bet that thats it for today, do not forget to join me next week as I bring you more juicy information about photography.

Have a nice week and see you then.

9 responses to “Think Big.

  1. When I scrolled through the page, I chose this particular post, for I think you have chosen a very nice heading and a beautiful picture to start with. That caught my attention and the text that followed definitely met my expectations. Your post is very well structured and I liked your bullet points in the middle of your text that are written as direct advice. That really makes me feel as if you are talking to me. And I liked your comparison between the blogs that you found and the video that you recommended. So I am looking forward to your next posts!

  2. Hey Nancy,
    after being notified by my google reader that your new post was online, I got immediately interested and softened by the picture (OMG this is sooo cute). It’s a great catcher, especially for women I think.
    What I liked most about your blog was the test you offered to evaluate the “seriousness” of the own interest in photography and the advice you gave in the following.
    Besides, it was very well structured and easy to read.
    What I might recommend you though is to directly link words to the URL, e.g. you could link the name “Mary Buck” directly with her blog, as it can be distracting to read over the links.
    If you haven’t figured out how to do this I am pleased to help you πŸ™‚
    Very well done πŸ™‚

  3. Hey Nancy,

    I am absolutely sharing Viola’s point of view. I think the photo is just a perfect eye catcher for your potential readers. And yes, especially for women who most of the times go crazy seeing babies. And this one is certainly super sweet so it surely attracts attention!
    Besides, I really like your heading because it does not necessarily correspond to the picture and that might make people curious to get to know more…
    I like your personal style of writing a lot!

  4. Pingback: Becoming a BIG FISH… « The Business of Photography

  5. Pingback: Meeting new challenges… « The Business of Photography

  6. Pingback: Nigel Barker: From Doctor to America’s Next Top Model Photographer « The Business of Photography

  7. Pingback: Grow or Die!!! « The Business of Photography

Leave a comment